Time Devotion

“And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.” -Mark 12:30 (NIV)

“Teach us to number our days right, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” (Psalm 90:12) (NIV)

When our end comes, all our actions will be counted, our decisions revised, right in front of us.

Have I faithfully served God with the time He has given me?

Psalms 90 tells us that our life is short. We must prioritize our life. God should always be first, then the family of course.

 

Time is not ours, it never was. It always was God’s and was given by God. It’s a gift given to us. Are we making use of the gift?

The most common excuse, we don’t have time. We got called in for overtime, or got assignments, so no time.

We should be ashamed, in a way, cause the time that we get to finish those works, are allotted by Christ. He knows that we can finish it in time, even after spending time with Him.

The reason we tend to fail in this, is because we choose not to spend time with Him.

 

The bible tells us in “2 Corinthians 9:6 – But this [I say], He which soweth sparingly shall reap also sparingly; and he which soweth bountifully shall reap also bountifully.” (NIV)

Are we sowing the time bountifully?

 

Also, “Galatians 6:7 Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows.” (NIV)

We don’t have time? Well of course, if only we had planted time, we’d have got proper time for everything!

Everything would have finished in time, if only we gave our time in His hands!

 

We know our timings, our plans, but our timings and our plans are not what’s final. We often say “I missed the morning prayer, I’ll pray in the evening.” “I missed today’s meeting, I’ll go next week.” This is our time.

Do we know what God’s time is? God might have given me a deadline, and I don’t know that, none of us knows that. God must be planning of sending me somewhere else next month, and I keep on delaying the plans for the church, my time is done.

Even worse, if God plans that I don’t have to see this evening and if I went to my office, instead of church, I missed my last church service. My last chance of helping people come together in worship(the writer is a worship leader in the church), last chance of worshiping Him in oneness with all the beautiful people of the church.

 

Are you really sure, that you want take the risk of skipping meeting Him in His time just because your time doesn’t fit with Him?

Author: Georgy Roy (NLFA Baroda)

Leave a Reply

