Jesus – The crisis manager

On June 14th, 2013, India woke up to a shocking disaster in Uttarakhand, Northern India where severe flash floods engulfed the entire region. Several thousands were missing and several others presumed dead. However experts say that the exact number of dead people might be never known due to the manner in which people and homes were washed away. I heard a survivor say on television, ” I have lost everything, I do not know what to do”.  At that point, I sat and thought to myself what a believer should do in such crisis.

Imagine the loss of a dearly loved one. I know that pain as I lost my father at a young age and struggled for years to come out of it. Imagine a financial crisis where one loses everything and is left on the streets with nothing. Imagine a family dealing with fatal diseases of loved ones.

From a human’s point of view, one would be shattered beyond words. One would break down terribly but from my experience, the best place to break down is at the lap of our Father in heaven. Inspite of the reality, the blessed and unique privilege for a child of God is the fact that we have an eternal God; a God who is much above all these earthly problems.

The road to rehabilitation is difficult. But it is as simple as holding His hand and walking in it. Walking in Christian faith does not guarantee a life sans difficulties. Nevertheless it surely provides a way to handle it.

“Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” – Isaiah 41:10

When you have nothing or no one, remember you still have Jesus to lean upon. He knows our needs even before we ask of Him. He wants to help us. Have you come across a situation when you have tried everything at your end but failed miserably. Try giving it to God, rest assured  that He is in control.

“ For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”  – Jeremiah 29:11

“Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds. 3 for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness.  4 And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.” – James 1:2-4 

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

 

Author : Hepsibah Rachel (NLF Baroda)

Leave a Reply

